The big, ever-changing world

Most days I like to think of myself as a “connected” educator. I blog, albeit rarely, tweet, and keep up with articles using RSS readers. This gives me a chance to access and connect with educators and leaders across the world. The problem I have is that the more I reach out and read, the more I realize that I have a long way to go. There are some people that are doing some amazing things in their district individualizing professional development for their teachers using technology and social connections. We aren’t there yet and I need to do a better job being a model for this type of development.

The article that got me to thinking about all of this can be found here. It was an article by William M. Ferriter and Nicholas Provenzano. I started thinking about how even though I am “connected” I don’t really use those connections to make specific improvements. I will keep up to date on the important events that are going on in Tennessee and will retweet a few noteworthy items. I will also read an article that grabs my attention. However, I don’t get many things that I act on. I use the resources to develop myself but if I don’t put those into action and help share or improve my district then I might as well have been watching reruns on TV.

Hopefully as I keep reaching out and opening doors like the authors mentioned I will get closer to where I want to be as a “connected educator.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The big, ever-changing world

  1. Dillard says:

    Hello there I am consequently excited I discovered your website, I must say i found anyone in error, even though When i ended up being checking upon Bing with regard to another thing, Anyway My business is right here today as well as would likely exactly like to convey thank you lots for just a remarkable publish and a over-all fascinating web site (I additionally love the theme/design), We don’t possess moment to endure everything at the small but We’ve ended up saving the item and as well included as part of your feeds, and once I have period I am time for go through more, Please carry out carry on this wonderful career.

Leave a Reply

